"The gifts you have been given in this life do not belong to you alone.  They belong to everyone.  Do not be selfish and imprison yourself in a lifestyle that holds your spirit hostage and provides no spontaneity or grace in your life.  Risk being yourself fully." - Paul Ferrini, from The Silence of the Heart

I love Paul Ferrini.  I stumbled upon this particular book a few years ago.  Actually "stumbled" isn't the appropriate word.  This book was almost like a puppy at the pound.  As I was mindlessly browsing each section, it was barking and yapping and making puppy eyes at me begging me to take notice and pull it off the shelf.  Once I had it in my hand there was no way it wasn't going home with me.  It has become one of the most powerful books in my library.

The passage I quoted above comes from the chapter called "Right Livelihood".  Now, like most people when I read the word "livelihood" that triggers the connection to "work" which in the past used to make me go "UGH".

Admit it...you said UGH too...

But, that's why this chapter is called "right" livelihood.  It talks about the difference between what you perceive to be your "job" versus your real work a.k.a. the outward expression of your gifts.  Big difference.  Sometimes.

Kahlil Gibran said in The Prophet, "work is love made visible."  Ferrini explores the same concept.

Do you remember how, when you were a kid, every grownup you ever encountered would ask you what you wanted to be when you grew up?  Do you remember that moment where you'd turn your glance slightly skyward, make that "hmmm" face and then answer with the most luminous dream you could think of?  In that moment, you knew right where you were going and you had absolutely no concerns about how to make it happen.

When did they stop asking?  When did we stop answering?  When did we buy into the idea that "work" was synonomous with drudgery and servitude?

Not long ago (in the big scheme of things) I stopped buying into that.  I finally recognized that I'd been doing it wrong.  Seriously wrong.  I began to pay attention...very close attention...to how I felt, what emotions I experienced during the course of my days.  I began to notice what made the difference in having an exhilerating day and having a draining day.  The difference was in how closely aligned what I did that day was with who I really am.  Most of the time I was way off the mark.

You'd think making that discovery would be like a heavenly ray of light streaming down out of the clouds and onto my head, complete with angel voices singing.  Instant career enlightenment. 

Nope. 

First panic, then a questioning of my own sanity, followed by a dip into near despair.  It was a highly unpleasant experience.  It's an awful feeling to recognize that where you are after twenty some years of work is miles and miles away from the place where you can fully express your gifts.  It felt like there was a desert between Point A and Point B...a dry, sandy, blazing desert.

I won't lie.  I whined and grumbled and cursed for the longest time.  Mostly my rants were directed at myself.  Sometimes I was brave enough to get mad at the Universe.  It's ok though...the Universe is used to those kinds of things and remained undisturbed by my silliness.  Eventually I did what I knew I had to do.  I took the first step.

I changed my mind.

I changed my thoughts.

I changed my attitude.

Instead of hurling a series of "why, why, why's" at the Universe, I quietly and humbly asked, "what do I do now?"

Then I did the most important thing of all.  I willingly listened.

Listened to what?  I listened to everything quiet and subtle and peaceful.  When I flipped channels and found Wayne Dyer on PBS talking about the Power of Intention, I stopped and listened.  When my boss loaned me a DVD copy of The Secret, I listened.  When a Paul Ferrini book jumped into my hands and refused to go back on the shelf, I listened.  And when someone would sit with me because they felt troubled and needed someone to listen, that's what I did...

Fast forward to today.  I think I'm more than halfway across that desert.  It hasn't been nearly as tough as I thought it would be.  There has always been a cool (as in "wicked, way cool") oasis right when I needed one...and very few mirages.  And there are few things more beautiful than a full moon in the desert night sky.

Ferrini also said, "You discover your life work by listening to the voice of your heart.  There is no other way."

Amen

Now...get to work.

WS
Michelle
7/14/2010 10:35:27 am

Well, I have just gotten to my email! I am so excited about your blog! Have you emailed it to everyone yet? I'm going to have to continue checking in on you over here!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.