Picture
I have a sign on my desk.  It says "The best way to predict the future is to create it."  I have it there because that's how I feel about life and possibilities.  It's a nice way to greet my guests (many of who are young college students who need all the positive influences they can get) and also to remind me every morning when I walk in to start my day.

I've noticed something lately.  I'm out of balance.  I seem to have drifted off course and into a rocky inlet.  I feel as if I'm being batted about and the calm seas I was experiencing not long ago have darkened and become hostile.  Too much stress.  Too much drama.  Too much negativity and unwanted obligations.  And all the things that matter most to me have somehow been pushed to the back burner to make more space for all the stuff I don't really want.

How'd that happen?

I'm a firm believer that you can't create the life you want by living the life you don't want.  If something feels wrong...in other words, out of alignment with your personal values and mission, then it's time to step away from that and towards something that feels more right, or closer to alignment.  I think that's the real meaning of "getting centered".  It's moving towards the person you see as the "real you".  Anything that doesn't reflect that, that portrays you as someone you're not, well, that generates stress and disharmony.  Stress and disharmony eat holes in your mind, body and eventually your spirit.

I'm starting to feel like Swiss cheese.

Sometimes it takes big brass kahonas to step away from certain facets of your life "on a whim".  If you're looking to the outside world to support you in your decisions to make drastic changes (or even minor ones), look elsewhere.  The outside world is invested in sameness.  Only your inner world will encourage you to jump and flap like crazy.  "Crazy" being the key word here.

I used to be the kind of person who would mentally beat a decision to death before I'd take the first step.  What I've come to realize is that my gut was generally right from the very beginning but I didn't trust it.  I wanted facts and workflow diagrams to back it up.  I wasted a lot of time and energy doing that.  My "gut to action" time ratio has improved greatly but I still haven't reached warp speed.  Impulsivity isn't my m.o. 

Time to make a change.  A big one.  Time to invite all the important people and activities and loving pursuits back into my life.  Time to gently release (or beat off with a stick) all the things that are demanding more from me than I wish to give.

Time to get back to the business of predicting my future.

Godspeed...

WS
Michelle
9/17/2010 05:12:08 am

Makes me wonder.... :-)

My Ethics teacher says there is the World of Should, and the World of If. I am in this place now. A place of complete discomfort- like my own skin is on too tight. Caught between what I feel like I should do, and what will happen if I do it.

Reply
Brenda
9/20/2010 03:48:52 am

I swear it must be in the water because I have felt for the last couple of months that I am racing in front of the big bad wolf and he is picking the trail. I can't quite figure out how to jump off the trail he is pushing me down because there are sharks in the water on both sides.

So where do you get the courage to jump? In our minds I know we realize that the worst those sharks can do is bite!

Reply
Michelle
9/20/2010 06:22:38 am

Good point Brenda, but I guess I don't like to be chewed on :-)

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.