Picture
Wow...it's been a long time since I've been here.  Not sure where May and June went.  I know I was around somewhere...

I just got a new book on Thursday.  It is called Living Buddha, Living Christ, written by Thich Nhat Hanh.  The book itself is not the topic for today, but something I read in it that sent me floating downstream.  Here is the quote (page 23):

"When I was a young monk in Vietnam, each village had a big bell, like those in Christian churches in Europe and America.  Whenever the bell was invited to sound (in Buddhist circles we never say 'hit' or 'strike' a bell), all the villagers would stop what they were doing and pause for a few moments to breathe in and out in mindfulness."

I like the concept of an "invitation to sound" - to open and release what is within without having it beaten out of us.  And not beating it out of others.

Sometimes we want to know what someone has on their mind or what might be held within their heart.  Sometimes we can tell they are troubled and want to give comfort.  Sometimes we want to know because we are troubled and need our own comfort.  We are compelled to ask questions and analyze every little thing.  We try to strike the bell to make it ring. 

But maybe what we need to do is be patient and wait for the breeze to pick up and stir the bell so that its sound is gently coaxed from it in natural timing and through an environment conducive to release.

In other words, wait for it.

In his example from the book, the ringing bell reminded the people to step into mindfulless, but when it is another person, someone we love, that we wish to hear, it needs to go the other way around.  The mindfulness needs to start with us before the bell will ring.  Our simple still presence and patience is how a space is created.  That is how the wind of spirit begins to stir and the invitation is given.

I always find it amazing how just the right words show up at just the right time.  I needed this message.  I'm sharing because maybe you need it too.  Or maybe me writing it "out loud" was the only way I could understand it myself.

Either way, thanks for listening.

Love always,

Wondering Soul
Darth
7/5/2011 09:01:55 am

Your post was the bell ringing, naturally, drawing one to hear and release, and reflect, and to exhale.

Reply
KLP
7/28/2011 02:27:51 pm

Ahhh, grasshopper. You're in the home stretch ;-)

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.