I am reading a new book, Open Heart, Clear Mind by Thubten Chodron, who is an American Buddhist nun.  The book is written as an introduction to those of us who have had very little exposure to this belief system.  It is a gentle read and I have been enjoying it immensely.

One of the first ideas that struck a chord for me is that of "impartial love".  What is that?  As Westerners, we've heard the concept of unconditional love, but I wondered if this was different.  When you start throwing around a word with huge implications like love, I want to make sure I "get" the point.

Believe it or not, this book has a glossary with a definition for the word Love.  Amazing.  And I like what it says.

"LOVE: the wish for all others to have happiness and its causes."

WIth that definition, it makes it far easier to apply impartiality, doesn't it?  Everybody deserves to be happy, don't they?  Sure.  Well...unless they do something bad.  Or if they don't do what I want them to do.  Or if they have different poilitical beliefs or religious beliefs or listen to a different style of music or have tattoos or something...

Just kidding...to make a point.  Think for a moment what the world would be like if we could just see each other, ALL others, as DESERVING.  Even if just for a moment or two to try it on to see if it fits.  Can you point to someone specifically who does NOT deserve to be happy?  If so, why not?  Do you think that if everyone thought everyone else deserved to be happy we might live in a better world?  It is even possible to change our minds in such a big way?

This morning I wondered into a beautiful meditation class with my Dharma friend.  Our teacher gave us homework for this week to make a wish for happiness for everyone we encounter, even (especially) the people we find most difficult to deal with.  Would you like to try that too?  I dare ya...

LOVE

WS
MIchelle
7/28/2010 11:53:57 am

I love that, impartial love, it's something new yet something we already know. I get to borrow that book, right? I am doing my homework ;-) I have been able to report an increased sense of well-being even in times when I would normally feel all out of sorts.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.