Picture
There's an old Tom Petty tune that starts out "It didn't feel like Sunday, didn't feel like June".
-Tom Petty, Hard Promises, "Somthing Big"

Brilliant use of language to create a setting and a mood...in less than 10 words.  You know it is indeed a Sunday in June, but you also get a sense that nothing feels as it should, there's something just not right.

It doesn't feel like August.

What's life supposed to feel like?  Sometimes I'm flooded with enthusiasm.  I don't surf, but I imagine that's how it feels...riding a wave.  Caught up in the sensation that I know where the hell I'm going and all my prior confusion and struggles were designed to prepare me for THIS moment.  Woo-hoo!

Then it fades,  Life resumes a more normal pace and I'm standing on the beach reminiscing about how great that felt.

Now what?

I've spent a whole lot of this life overcoming things.  Painful, confusing, terribly unkind things.  There's comfort in triumph, in healing and in finding some solace in what has transpired.  There is even more comfort in encouraging others as they make their way through their own version of "The Inferno".

But when the "overcoming"part is over, when does the steady, secure, peaceful, blissful, comical part happen?  When do you get to just be content to fall asleep next to someone who thinks you're a goofy goober...and finds that terribly attractive?

Achievement is all well and good.  Setting a good example, giving back to the community, being a kind, compassionate person.  All marvelous.

Then what?

Hard Promises is the name of the CD.  The song is "Insider".

It's a circle of deception
It's a hall of strangers
It's a cage without a key
You can feel the danger
And I'm the one who oughta know
I'm the one you couldn't trust
I'm the lonely silent one
I'm the one left in the dust

I'm an insider, I been burned by the fire
And I've had to live with some hard promises
I've crawled through the briars -- I'm an insider

Yep...been there.

Melancholy days come and go.  For my friend who is having one of those days, I'm here.  I've been there.  I'll be here beside you while you find your way out.  I'll hold the lantern so you don't get lost in the dark.

I'm an insider.

WS
Michelle
8/19/2010 05:11:03 am

You should really get paid for this stuff- it's beautiful :-)

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.