Picture
I was doing chores last night.  Laundry, dishes, the usual.  Often when I'm home by myself I'll have the TV on just so the place isn't so quiet.  Last night it was the History Channel.  (Seriously...don't you just love that channel?)  I was only half listening while standing over my kitchen sink but I was mesmerized by some of the images.  They were talking about crop circles.  I found that I didn't really care beans about all the theories of how they get there.  It makes my head hurt to think about it.  I was just captured by the beauty.

How cool would it be if we stopped asking how they get there?  What if the farmer who walks out into his field in the morning would just say "wow...crop circle...awesome" and leave it at that?  What if we saw them as unexplainable gifts and just received them with joy and gratitude?

Perhaps there are things in life that we should stop trying to figure out.  Maybe beating to death (and arguing over) the whys and the hows isn't really serving us.  Maybe we should remember how it felt when we were 5 years old.  I'm pretty sure a 5 year old wouldn't worry about whether it was an alien or a hoaxer that made that fascinating geometric masterpiece in the yard.  I'm pretty sure that kid would just run around its borders and lay down on the flat spots and jump around and probably make some gleeful squealing noise.

I want to jump around and make gleeful squealing noises again.

There are things in my life that I'm going to quit trying to figure out...beautiful gifts that fall out of the sky and change everything.  I'm going to quit trying to figure out if the gifts are the product of a cool alien or a hoaxer. Doesn't matter.  All that matters is that I fully receive and appreciate them.

Take a moment today to look for inexplicable beauty.  You'll make an alien's day.

WS
Michelle
8/5/2010 05:34:36 am

I too find crop circles to be beautiful and amazing. I have never really given much thought to them at all (how they got there that is). All the alien talk seems odd to me, and the hoax- why would anyone do that....I think I just like them, and I leave it at that.

Reply
WS
8/5/2010 08:54:46 pm

Yeah...I'm thinking the most likely causes are angels playing in the field or babies making wishes in their sleep...

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.