When what appears lovely comes wrapped in thorns, it is best to say "no thank you."

It's funny some people think it is their duty to tell others what is "wrong" with them, followed by precise instructions how to fix those flaws ASAP, and later they expect glowing expressions of appreciation for their "rightness."  In the absense of your gratitude, they are offended and insulted.

No thank you.

Yes, if I am about to step out in front of a speeding bus, by all means, stop me.  But if "fault finding" has become your hobby, leave me out of it.  I've become rather fond of my faults, and the ones I don't like, I'll manage on my own.  If I need your advice, I'll ask for it.

I'd rather hang out with friends, family, colleagues and mentors whose focus is the depth of our strengths and talents.  I'd rather fan the flames under the stew pot of the positive, because that's the life I want to cook up.  Why cultivate bitterness and negativity?

Life is challenging enough.

Take a close look at the gifts you are giving and receiving.  Be sure they are wrapped in love.

Peace,

WS
KLP
11/30/2011 07:51:14 am

Sometimes, what others perceive as our flaws are actually traits they wish they possessed themselves. Those traits are only faults if you, yourself, believe them to be.

Just a thought from my flu-wracked brain. *cough-sneeze*

Reply
WS
12/1/2011 07:41:39 pm

Henry Winkler said "Assumptions are the termites of relationships." I would say the same of criticisms. Even those offered as constructive eventually become erosive. No one wants to be under the microscope of judgment all the time. Gentle acceptance of ourselves and others, as we are and as they are, is the putty that fills in and repairs the holes.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.