I was reading Jung this morning.  I think perhaps he and I are connected at some level as fellow members of the Cosmic Club for Wondering Souls.  Today he and I explored the idea that we all share a glimmer of the great light...a "fiery spark of the soul of the world".  Jung seemed passionate in his exploration of this idea because as I read it I was swept away from thoughts of psycholoogy and began to fly joyfully through the puffy white clouds of the soul.  I felt a bit like a female Peter Pan...all elfin and mischevious.

He spoke quite a bit of the words of Dorn and Paracelsus and spewed out Latin in a way that just makes the reading of it more magical.  As I do not wish to shortchange Dr. Jung from his fair due, I will tell you where you too can find this jar of intellectual fireflies...they are from On the Nature of the Psyche

So what does it mean to believe we all contain a portion of the light of the Invisible Sun within us?  If we truly did believe that each and every one of us arrive on this planet already equipped with that divine gift, in equal measure, free of charge, no one shortchanged or overgifted, would we look at life and each other any differently? 

Now, before I go much further, I must state openly and for the record that I do not subscribe to or promote any particular religious doctrine...nor do I agree with anyone practicing the coersion of others to blindly hitch their spiritual wagons to a particular belief system, no matter how widely accepted that belief system may be. We were born with our own minds, our own souls and an unalienable (or is that inalienable...) right to practice free will.  I say only that it is always in one's best interest to choose consciously whenever possible.  Choosing consciencely is a pretty good idea too.

With all that being said, I also have a deep appreciation for those who have great faith and conviction in their beliefs...those who live in aligment with all that they value and trust.  That is a beautiful thing to witness.  Is this a contradiction?  Somewhere inside me, it reconciles.

Yes, I wonder how I would be different if even for only one 24 hour day, I could look at every single person whose path I crossed and see in them that fiery spark.  If I could stop myself from frowning at the guy in the grocery line in front of me when he barks at his kid and growls at the checkout clerk, how would that feel?  Better yet, if I never felt the urge to frown in the first place.  Would it change me?  Would it change him?  What if he were met with a peaceful, compassionate smile on my face rather than a judgmental scowl?  How would it be then?

Would it be possible to practice this for just one day?  I'm in.  Can't hurt to try.

Thanks Dr. Jung...

Rock on,

WS

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.