"It's a force that appears negative, but actually shows you how to realize your Personal Legend.  It prepares your spirit and your will, because there is one great truth on this planet: whoever you are, or whatever it is that you do, when you really want something, it's because that desire originated in the soul of the universe.  It's your mission on earth."
                                                                                The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho

Nesting is an instinctive behavior; the primal preparation for something to be born.  It is as if there had been a seed planted, by some unseen force, and the result of that wonderous creation is about to make itself known.

Fear not.

And get ready.

I feel my invisible spirit scurrying about: taking inventory, clearing the clutter, making space. 

"If there's a bustle in your hedgerow, don't be alarmed now, it's just a spring clean for the May queen..."
                                                                            Stairway to Heaven - Led Zeppelin

Perhaps all of this is a response to weariness - brilliantly and subliminally designed to fend off the creeping mildew of despair.  Regardless of why it is happening, I appreciate the illumination flooding through, washing clean the dirt and debris of 'making do' and 'sucking it up' and keeping a damnably 'stiff upper lip'.

Today I am starting spring cleaning in the fresh first days of winter.  As I open dusty cardboard boxes, retrieved from the deep corners of my closets, to explore their forgotten contents, I will also visit with the sleepy memories who, rubbing their eyes, have been disturbed by my light.  There are reasons some things have remained in those boxes, carted from place to place, unopened.  Sometimes souvenirs serve as tiny caskets to keep the dead safely tucked away from the eyes of the grieving.  This week I will be exhuming some of what I lacked the strength and courage to face before now. 

"Me? I say my prayers then I light myself on fire and I walk out on the wire once again."
                                                                  Goodnight Elisabeth - Counting Crows

I am driven like a full moon tide to start this year a little lighter.  Denying the darkness by hiding it in the dust only adds to the weight of it.  The dead deserve to have their grieving, and the living deserve to step away from the graveyards to play in gardens, unencumbered by the past.

I think I'm going to run up to Walmart to get me a shredder.  Not as good as a chain saw, but it'll have to do.  I've got plenty of Hefty bags, Pledge, Windex, and Kleenex. Soon I'll be good as new.

Maybe better.

Little blue robin's eggs are beginning to stir.  I can almost hear the faint scratching of life beneath the shells.

Peep, peep, peep...

WS

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.